Bancor 3.0 – The Next Frontier: derivatives, margin, and the power of vBNT

Bancor 3.0 – The Next Frontier: Derivatives, margin, and the power of vBNT

The novel design of Bancor 2.0, token elasticity, and the introduction of further utility to vBNT have been an enormous success as demonstrated by the massive rise in liquidity and volume since its introduction. While Vortex is still in its infancy, the possible utilities are numerous, powerful, and central to the success of Bancor’s future. The massive rise in liquidity, effort to incentivize trading, and incoming Layer2 solution in Arbitrum will afford the platform an opportunity to not only become a leader among AMMs but also the decentralized derivatives and futures markets. I want to clarify up-front that I am not a technical expert and will likely need to be corrected on multiple aspects in this proposal. I hope to spur discussion and get feedback on the proposals feasibility (and maybe even unveil hints that this is already on the Team’s mind).

In this proposal, I outline a potential protocol to leverage Bancor’s elastic supply and asset of vBNT to provide massive liquidity and margin respectively. In short, vBNT can be utilized as Multi-collateral debt (MCD) to leverage Bancor into a collateralized lending system allowing for user friendly access to margin to employ in spot and derivative trading.

The Bancor Protocol for Margin Trading

There are at least two options: