Proposal: Tokenize the Deficit

There is a growing deficit that needs to be dealt with. While new revenue generation methods are great, they do not outweigh the potential for a massive increase in deficit in the short term. Larger and more substantial solutions need to be discussed. One of those potential solutions is to tokenize the deficit.

While I am no developer, and do not have all of the technical details, the rough idea is as follows:

• Establish a stable “safe” ratio at which the deficit can assumed to be in order for the protocol to function as intended. This ratio may increase or decrease in the future due to new features and revenue streams.

• Establish an “unsafe” ratio at which the deficit can be assumed to be too low in order for the protocol to function as intended.

• Create a deficit/debt token. For the purpose of this discussion, we will call this “dBNT”.

• Mint this token only when the deficit is below the stable safe ratio.

• While minting is enabled, sell this token directly to the public at a stable price. Lets say 5 DAI each.

• Allow the staking of dBNT. dBNT is not staked with any other pairs and is not traded. Staking simply implies there is a method for which dBNT holders can deposit their asset on to the platform to accrue fees, as outlined under this section.

• Establish a dBNT Buyback pool, and a cap to that pool equal to the amount of dBNT sold multipled by it’s price (The price at which it is sold on Bancor), multiplied by a number above 100%. For this discussion we will use 120%. If there is a total of 1,000 dBNT sold at 5 DAI each, we’re looking at a pool total of 6,000 DAI. Buyback Pool = Total dBNT x dBNT price x 120%

• Direct all revenue streams to dBNT stakers while the deficit remains under the unsafe ratio.